Public speaking

  1. Assalamualaikum wrt….When I gave her my usual evening call yesterday, Aisyah excitedly said tht she’d voluntereed to do public speaking at school.  She’ll be talking in front of the entire school after Zohor prayers tomorrow  on the topic ” I Love Malaysia’ in English.  It’ll be her first attempt at public speaking and she’s all very excited!
  2. She tried to read out the text to me.  With the line not very good, I couldn’t hear clearly what she was reading out.  But the excitement in her voice and the pride in the way she read it out, made me so very proud of her.
  3. I reminisced at her age.  Yes, I had done public speaking before during school assemblies …. but I was selected by my class teacher or headmistrees to do it then. I had never volunteered to do it and would never had thought of doing so!
  4. But Aisyah’s different.  Unlike the way Abah & Mak had raised me, I brought her up the opposite way.  I exposed and encouraged her to try new things & take the challenge just to see if she can do it.  It doesn’t matter if she isn’t good at it or even if she fails, as long as she tries and gives it her best shot and enjoys herself in the process.
  5. So far, she’s been just fine.  Day by day I see her confidence building up.

Leave a comment